FROM A SMALL BEGINNING AROUND
1852, IN A RESIDENCE ON COAL LICK, AN AREA JUST OUTSIDE ALBRIGHT PROPER,
THE EARLY CONGREGATION WAS KNOW AS THE CHEAT RIVER BAPTIST CHURCH.
THE DISASTROUS FLOOD, OF NOVEMBER 5, 1985, DESTROYED THE CHURCH ALONG WITH MUCH OF ALBRIGHT. A HANDICAP RAMP INSTALLED IN THE 1970'S PREVENTED THE CHURCH FROM WASHING AWAY. THE RAGING WATER ROCKED, TWISTED, BENT AND BROKE THE CHURCH IN HALF. WITH THE FOUNDATION SWEPT AWAY, IT CRUMBLED TO THE GROUND WHEN THE WATER RECEDED. THEN GOD INTERVENED AND CALLED FOURTH HIS PEOPLE. ENDOWED WITH TIME, TALENT, AND RESOURCES THE CHURCH WAS REBUILT. DEBT FREE, IT WAS DEDICATED TO GOD'S GLORY ON AUGUST 9, 1987, 130 YEARS AFTER THE FIRST BUILDING WAS BUILT. THE CHURCH CONTINUES TODAY TO BE A VITAL WITNESS AND VESSEL IN THE COMMUNITY FOR THE GLORY OF GOD. |
FROM MORGANTOWN AREA
Take the WV-26 exit- exit number 23- towards
Turn RIGHT onto WV-26. 0.20 miles Go 11.82 miles on WV-26
We are right across from the Albright Kwik Stop Total Estimated Time: 30 Minutes We are approximately 3 miles from Kingwood,
WV
|
![]() |